Getting back on track

Dog Loves Books

From ‘Dog Loves Books’ by Louise Yates

It has been some time since my last post, a lot has happened since late 2014!

At the start of 2015, I started at a new school, it was a big change for me moving from teaching Grades 3-6 to K-6, and classes per week from 10 to 26! It was such a busy start to the year, I had many things I wanted to add to School Library Owl but I just could not find the time. In late Term 3, 2015 I was diagnosed with an illness which required me to undergo surgery and several months of treatment – I am at the other end now and ready to get myself back on track, catch up from where I was and see where things lead.

Term 3, 2016 I am back to full time work and now teaching Grades K-5, 23 classes per week.

Reflecting on changing schools – well it was a shock to the system at first but I learnt more and did more in a term that I would have done in a year if I did not make the change. I highly regard the role of a Teacher Librarian and the impact they can make at a school and to a child’s learning experiences. After many sleepless nights, confusion about my path ahead and worry about everything under the sun, I feel I have moved on and am ready to leap ahead and make a difference.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *