My Country – a classic start to Grade 5

Reading My Country by Dorothea Mackellar and  illustrated by Andrew McLean made an engaging start to the year for Grade 5. My Country

This classic poem showcased Australia’s landscape and environment. Rich descriptions of Australia’s past throughout the poem provided sound discussion points regarding the significance of the poem and connections to the Australian landscape today. Following the reading and discussion of My Country students selected one line to illustrate their visual interpretation onto a small postcard which was hung in the Library for display.Premier’s Reading Challenge 5-6 Book.

NSW Syllabus Outcomes for AC – English:

EN3-7C Thinking imaginatively, creatively and interpretively – engage personally with texts

  • Interpret events and situations in texts

My Country display Screen Shot 2014-02-19 at 9.16.03 PM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *